There is currently no agreement on the BJP's desire to remove two Shiv Sena MPs: References

As the Lok Sabha elections draw near and Maharashtra gears up to vote in five phases, consensus within the ruling Mahayuti alliance appears elusive. Tensions have arisen as the BJP exerts pressure on Shiv Sena's Shinde faction to replace incumbent candidates in two constituencies.

The seat allocation within the NDA-led Mahayuti alliance in Maharashtra remains unsettled, with the BJP urging the Eknath Shinde-led Shiv Sena to swap out two of its declared candidates for the impending Lok Sabha polls, according to sources familiar with the matter.

Specifically, the BJP has requested the Shiv Sena to replace sitting MPs Hemant Patil from Hingoli and Dhairyasheel Mane from Hatkanangale Lok Sabha constituencies.

Shiv Sena unveiled its initial list of candidates on March 28, encompassing eight Lok Sabha constituencies. Of these, seven incumbent MPs were retained, with only Ramtek witnessing a change as Kripal Tumhane was replaced by Raju Parve.

The BJP's call for replacement is purportedly based on internal survey findings. Sources suggest that Nivedita Mane, Dhairyasheel Mane's mother, is poised to take his place in the Hathkanangale constituency, while Hemant Patil's wife, Rajshree Patil, is anticipated to contest from Yavatmal-Washim, currently represented by Bhavna Gawali.

Furthermore, incumbent Shinde Sena MP Hemant Godse of Nashik is reportedly striving to secure his candidacy, though it remains undeclared. Notably, NCP's Chagan Bhujbal is emerging as a formidable contender for the Nashik Lok Sabha seat.

In other developments, Gajnan Kirtikar, a senior MP from Shinde Sena, has declared his decision to abstain from contesting against his son, Amol Kirtikar, in the Mumbai Northwest constituency. Meanwhile, Anandrao Adsul is purportedly discontented with the BJP's nomination of Navneet Rana for the Amravati Lok Sabha seat.

Additionally, the BJP is eyeing the Kalyan constituency, currently held by Eknath Shinde's son, Dr. Shrikant Shinde, whose name was conspicuously absent from the initial list. The BJP's demand for a swap in either the Thane or Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg constituencies, known as strongholds for both Eknath Shinde and Shiv Sena, has sparked unrest among incumbent MPs and senior party leaders. This discontent has manifested in gatherings outside Shinde's residence for discussions and persuasions, along with displays of strength by some leaders and their supporters outside the Chief Minister's official residence, Varsha.

buttons=(Accept !) days=(20)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Learn More
Accept !